Posted on

God-Timing and Protection in Mugging

I went to a Firestarters activation session at His People Church in Cape Town City Bowl. The venue is situated in Hope Street but I had to park down a side road off Hope Street. After the session I was walking to my car when two guys approached me. One of them asked if could I help them with R10 and I said that I had no money. Then the other guy piped up saying they don’t want my help they want my bag. As h says this he opens his jacket and shows me this sharp looking shiny thing which turns out to be a screwdriver. So I said “Ok but can I just take my book out?”. I was referring to my journal, I never want to lose my journal at all ever, all the prophetic words of encouragement I receive etc goes in there, goes in my journal! It really is all my hope on paper! So he (not the guy with the screwdriver) said I can take it if I want so I took my journal and my bible out and gave him my bag. Then he took my dad K-Way fleece too and they walked off. I started walking towards my car but then I turned round and there was a taxi cab that had just turned onto the road.  I ran to the driver and told him that those two guys just took my bag, they were walking slowly and all, trying to look normal but as we were talking the police pulled up and the two guys started running and then the police followed them. Then the rest is a bit of a haze lots of standing around talking to people. Soon an ADT officer came with my bag but not the fleece. ALL my stuff was still in my bag – iPod, camera, BlackBerry, wallet – nothing was missing and the police had one of the guys. I followed the ADT officer to the police who were still looking for the second guy. That was quite funny because a group of girls from the Firestarters session saw me surrounded by the police so they stopped and stood with me. I was quite chipper so they were praising God for how everything turned out and praying for more joy, right in front of the police and mugger. It must have been quite a sight to the passer-by, but a fabulous testimony at the same time. Later I wound up at the police station to make my statement and the parents of the second guy (whom the police could not find at the time) brought him in with my dad’s fleece jacket.

When I was at the police station the police woman explained events to me from their side and the crazy thing is that the police received a call to go to Hope Street for a disturbance and so they had been driving up and down looking for one. They just happened to be driving past my little off-street as the two guys turned the corner from my street onto Hope street. The police woman saw the one guy holding the bag behind his back and thought that looked suspicious and when they saw the police they just ran so then the police chased!

It was just so amazing how everything worked out, no physical harm came to me, I had favour with the guys to let me keep my most valuable possessions and on top of that everything that had been stolen was returned. Neither myself nor the police can get over how it all shaped up! GOD is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good!

By Francesca Mountfort

Leave a comment